Hymns #1: “Nearer My God To Thee”

Like many I grew up singing hymns in church. I never thought I’d miss them when I was singing them every week. However, many years later, I find myself not only enjoying them but longing for them. I looking forward to those weeks when the worship leader pulls out a hymn that I had almost forgotten. Josh led a few weeks ago and this was one that he chose.

“Nearer My God to Thee” hasn’t gotten much play in my mind or imagination for twenty-five years or more. My favorite verse is also the first.

Nearer, my God, to Thee, nearer to Thee!

E’en though it be a cross that raiseth me;

Still all my song shall be nearer, my God, to Thee.

Here’s the rest of the hymn with some background and information on the writer.

2 comments

  1. melanie-pearl

    I am completely reduced (all that is me is quieted & I’m totally in worship) by certain hymns, too. I am also thankful I can still hear my grandparents singing them. Who knew their voices and words were sticking to me back then—and that it would mean so much to me now? I bet they did. I hope the same for our kids.

Leave a Reply

