“Fighting” with the Bible

Thomas Merton was a mystic, author and activist who lived most of his adult life in the Abbey of Gethsemani in Kentucky. He died in Vietnam where he traveled to enter into religious discussions with Buddhist monks and leaders. Being Roman Catholic, his writings are not always immediately accessible to those outside of the Catholic Church but the excerpt below is vintage Merton, challenging Christians to be challenged, even troubled by the Bible:

There is, in a word, nothing comfortable about the Bible–until we manage to get so used to it that we make it comforable for ourselves. … Have we ceased to question the book and be questioned by it? Have we ceased to fight it? Then perhpas our reading is no longer serious.

For most people, the understanding of the Bible is, and should be, a struggle: not merely to find meanings that can be looked up in books of reference, but to come to terms personally with the stark scandal and conadiction in the Bible itself…

Let us not be too sure we know the Bible just because we have learned not to be astonished at it, just because we have learned not to have problems with it.  –  T. Merton, Opening the Bible

What do you think? Do you “fight” with the Bible, wrestle with it like Jacob did the angel? Or, has it become a completely tame book that no longer lays any claim on your soul?

(from The Bible Jesus Read by Philip Yancey)

6 comments

  1. karmenl

    I avoid reading it because I feel frustrated with my lack of understanding. It’s difficult for me to read it without seeing it through the lens that I was taught to read it with.

  2. queeniepoo

    Oh may I never lose my astonishment!!!… that as I wrestle that I not let go until He blesses me, and may God’s Word still mold me, and not only lay claim on my soul but nourish it!…

    Oh that God’s Living Word remind me and continue in my life for sanctification, reconciliation to God, forgiveness, to be a risk taker for Christ, to live a holy life, and remind me of His grace! Oh and to try and grasp how wonderful heaven will be.

    The Bible – may it always motivate me to care, have compassion, love and also to be ready for the Lord’s return. That the bible make me tremble and fully believe, to stay awake, alert and prepared. OMG… how I wrestle!!!!!!

    I’ll have to read that book by Philip Yancey.

  3. Pingback: Should I open with a head butt or a roundhouse kick? « Douglas and Main
  4. brad

    So………I have to fight with the Bible or else it’s a tame book that has no claim on my soul?
    Hmmmmmm…………………

  5. Jamie

    Love this quote. I completely agree that we lose the heart of our faith as soon as we stop struggling with it. How can there be growth without struggle?

    I feel like too often we allow our point of view to guid our reading of the Bible, rather than letting the Bible direct our point of view.

    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

