my favorite photo from this summer … the redemption of a bad day

Sylvan Lake, SD :: Aug 2008

This is my favorite photo of the summer. I took this picture of my son and one of his grandfathers after Harry and I had a unpleasant confrontation. It was the redemption of what started out as a bad day.

Our family visited Sylvan Lake, SD where my wife’s parents honeymooned almost forty years ago. It is a beautiful place where we all enjoyed a great walk around the water, through a great crack in a rock wall, and through the woods. If you’re a Tolkien fan or Narnia reader you may recognize that “sylvan” is a mythological term used to refer to forests, trees and the wild.

Grandfathers are great.

8 comments

Leave a Reply

