Continuous Conversion

“Being a Christian has always involved becoming a Christian.” – Pete Rollins, How (Not)To Speak Of God

This little quote is also on the Wheatland Mission site. (The bottom left column.) It seems that following Christ, being an active endeavor, requires continual growth. Other folks have suggested the use of the term continuous conversion which means that our Christian life means being converting, re-converting, becoming and re-becoming a follower of Christ every day. Living in this kind of rhythm might make us a more repentant people, a more humble and obedient community.

What do you think? Does the idea of continuous conversion make sense? Do you think it is consistent with Christianity as you know it?

3 comments

  1. brother brad

    I understand what you/they are meaning by cc but to me (under score “to me”)it implies that my conversion didn’t take, that what Christ did wasn’t/isn’t enough. I do believe that we all need to grow spiritually and strive to become more spiritually mature as Christians in spite of ourselves. Not sure what to call it but for now I’m happy with “Follower of Christ” or should I say “Attempting to follow Christ”, or “Some time follower of Christ but I’m pretty sincere about it most of the time”! Oh I don’t know, how ’bout – “Just pray for me”! in love, brad

  2. karmenl

    To me it doesn’t necessarily negate my initial decision for Jesus, but rather encourages me to not stay right where I am/was at the point of my decision.

    It implies growing in grace or changing from glory unto glory. Which might be similar to what Brad is actually saying (but, maybe not?) Who we were when we first made a decision for Jesus isn’t who we are today, thankfully.

    Continuous conversion (to me) means allowing Almighty God to create/recreate in me who He fully intended for me to be from the beginning of time. The image it brings to mind is that of a sculptor who is handed a big blob of clay to mold, shape, create into it’s intended purpose of which won’t be fully known until we see Him face to face.

  3. paul

    Good thoughts, each of you. Yes, I understand your point Brad. We don’t want to diminish what our initial responses to God’s grace means nor do we want to underplay “conversion” as a moment when something happens in favor of “conversion” as a lifestyle. They both are of value.

    Continual conversion suggests a life, a rhythm of growth and transformation. Not unlike the way we understand God’s Kingdom. It is here but it is not all the way here…it is inaugurated. Continual Conversion means that our growth has begun and only God knows what we will yet be. (Phil 1)

    This response is officially longer than my post.

Leave a Reply

