New Theme Test…Memorial Day

I am trying out this new theme because you can read more of the text than on my old one. Of course, this is plain old WP “off the shelf” theme but it’s clean and I like it. Let me know what you think.

The tabs that were on the top of my old blog are now in the “pages” section on the top right corner. Just in case you were interested. Let me know what you think of this theme. Does it bore you? Does it look so, 2005?

Today is Memorial Day, at one time it was called Decoration Day, it is an important time to remember those who have perished in the defense of our country. Today we honor them and all who have served, are serving or will. A sacrifice well worth the praise we should never forget.

Here is an old Robbie Robertson tune, complete with video from the late 80’s. Fallen Angel was written to commemorate some friends of Robertson who had passed away. I think it fits well here.

6 comments

  1. brother brad

    Couldn’t play it, says it isn’t available any longer. Anyway I agree, Memorial Day is special to me just like many American’s, thank you for reminding us to slow down a bit and think about all those we need to thank, first and foremost our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Hope you all had a great weekend!

  2. Jen in KS

    Memorial Day used to be my favorite holiday, oddly enough. When my folks took me out to the boonies, Kansas, to see my grandparents, I was usually the only kid there for days. But on Memorial Day, we got to LEAVE the farm to journey out to all the rural cemeteries where we have family. I listened to stories about them, and Dad drove a little too fast on the back roads. I loved it.

    As for the new format, I like being able to see more text, but the words are tiny for me. I hit “ctrl +” to enlarge them.

  3. paulhill

    Jen, thanks for sharing your memories of Memorial Day. I remember getting to go with my grandmother to put flowers on my grandfather’s grave. Somewhat sad, but good memories.

  4. brother brad

    I meant to also compliment your new theme and include it in my original post, I do like it!

  5. paulhill

    Thanks Brad. I’m not sure yet if I’m going to keep it but I do like seeing more of the post on the screen at a time. The downside is the size of type. I caught myself squinting.

    Jen…thanks for the “ctrl +” hint. I’ll figure out how to transpose that for a Mac but I’m sure it’s easy.

Leave a Reply

