Who I Hope Wins

The Oscars are on tonight. So here are my picks. Please, keep in mind that these are the people and films that I hope win not my best bet at who will. Here you go:

Best Picture:
Juno,
I know it’s a long shot but it is a wonderful, little film. There is so much that is right about this gem.

Best Actor:
Daniel Day-Lewis, He’s one of the best actors ever and he proves it again playing a man that is crazy with competition and greed. I wonder if he is going insane. Getting so “into” his character could drive one mad.

Best Actress:
Cate Blanchett, She played QE I, again, and did a great job. I couldn’t vote for the Juno girl because she may just be playing herself. I haven’t seen the other nominees.

Best Supporting Actor:
Javier Bardem, He should also win the “creepiest performance of all time” Oscar. His conversation with the old man in the gas station highlights this the most. When you can get creeped out in broad daylight your watching a master.

Best Animated Feature:
Ratatouille, This is a great film, animated or not. The scene when Ego gains “perspective” is especially good.

Juno, There Will Be Blood, and No Country For Old Men are each remarkable films. I won’t be disappointed if any of them get best picture. Each one is remarkable.

Who are you pulling for tonight?

Leave a Reply

