A Good Way To End The Day…

This excerpt is from John Baillie’s classic book called A Diary of Private Prayer. It isn’t a book about prayer but a book of prayer. The author uses Scripture, modern authors and prayers prayed by the church for generations to craft an extended prayer for both morning and evening. The following is the evening prayer for the 2nd day of the month:

My failure to be true even to my own accepted standards; My self deception in face of temptation; My choosing of the worse when I know the better: O Lord, forgive. My failure to apply to myself the standards of conduct I demand of others; My blindness to the suffering of others and my slowness to be taught by my own; My complacence towards wrongs that do not touch my own case and my over-sensitiveness to those that do: My slowness to see the good in my fellows and to the evil in myself; My hardness of heart towards my neighbours’ faults and my readiness to make allowance for my own; My unwillingness to believe that Thou has called me to a small work and my brother to a great one: O Lord, forgive.

“Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation, and give me the strength of a willing spirit. Amen. ” – from Psalm 51

3 comments

  1. paulhill

    I really like John Baille. I have to admit though, that I find some of the daily prayers to be a bit guilt inducing. Now, that may mean that I just have an over sensitive spiritual constitution. Prayer should be challenging, convicting and empowering. Shaming? I don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

