“Godspeed Madeline”

Three biggies passed on last week. Of course, almost everyone knows of Luciano Pavarotti’s death. Also, D. James Kennedy, pastor of Coral Ridge Presbyterian and the creater of the famous “Evangelism Explosion” curriculum died last week as well. He was well known as a leader within what has come to be known as the “religious right”. May they rest in peace.

Finally, while each of these are sad, one person with special significance to me passed away last week. Madeline L’Engle was the author of children’s books and books on prayer and faith. Her most famous is  A Wrinkle in Time which tells the story of a girl named Meg on an adventure with her psychic little brother as they seek to rescue their father. I like that kind of story.

I’ve had the privilege of teaching a class on the Psalms at Tabor College-Wichita. One of the more enjoyable parts of the class is listening to Madeline L’Engle, via video, discuss the redemption of doubt in the Christian life. These videos were recorded when she was old and her wisdom seems to be the kind that only comes with many years lived.

Her “kids” books are the type that can make us all grow. Godspeed Madeline.

Any Madeline L’Engle fans out there?

6 comments

  1. Tracey Lawrence

    Hey Paul, Sorry but I posted my thoughts about Madeleine under the wrong post area. See the “Whole Gospel”..oops.

    Anyway, just good to pause and remember Madeleine. Just miss her already. Tracey

  2. Tracey Lawrence

    Paul,

    Sorry, I accidentally posted my thoughts on Madeleine under the “Whole Gospel.” So my tribute is misplaced, yet I’m sure Madeleine wouldn’t be offended.

    Anyway, my thoughts have been with Madeleine’s family and friends who must miss her terribly.

    Great to remember her and thank God for her testimony! Tracey

  3. Tracey Lawrence

    Paul,

    Sure hope you don’t get this post over and over … having trouble with it posting. Anyway, I accidentally posted under “Whole Gospel” on thoughts on Madeleine. Oops.

    And now we know Madeleine is among the great cloud of witnesses, though we experience her loss here.

    Tracey Lawrence

  4. shack

    I enjoyed the original Wrinkle in Time trilogy when I was a kid, but Walking on Water found me at an important time in my life. I’m so thankful for her wisdom and courage to be an artist motivated by her beliefs and imagination rather than pandering to a particular audience. She helped me understand a better role for art in a Christian’s life than what I’d been presented with to that point.

  5. paulhill

    Shack,

    It is great to hear from you. I count Madeline as one of my distant mentors. I look forward to catching up with you more.

    Tracey,

    Way to mess up my comments section!!! Egads.

Leave a Reply

