Praying Other People’s Words

For some time now I have benefited from the practice of praying someone else’s words. Whether it be a Psalm or the Jesus Prayer or something from the one of the hourly prayer manuals I find that I pray spontaneously more when I first make the words of others my own. This following prayer is a great way to start the day from The Divine Hours a manual of daily prayer compiled by Phyllis Tickle:

Almighty God, to whom all hearts are open, all desires known, and from whom no secrets are hidden: cleanse the thoughts of our hearts by the inspiration of your Holy Spirit, that we may perfectly love you, and worthily magnify your holy name; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

2 comments

  1. paulhill

    You are so right. By the way, I think I will “review” the book that this prayer come from on this blog soon. I receive the book in the mail for free because I linked the Wheatland website to their daily prayer site. One good turn deserves another.

Leave a Reply

